RSS

Called and Enthralled

07 Sep

Hello!
I know I’ve not posted in ages, but I needed a break for my own personal reasons, but it doesn’t matter now because I’m back and ready to re-start up this blog. I know I left off mid-way through a series called ‘Raise the Faith’ and I’ve been praying about it and I think it’s better to leave it for a while. I will come back to it but sometime in the future as I don’t think I’ve got the best I can out of the subject so I don’t want to just rush it, so it’s a “To Be Continued…” moment. I’m starting this new 3 part series named ‘Called’. Notice how I’ve also changed the name of this blog because I’ve actually found a worthy name other than my ‘doctor from Oxford’ name. I also don’t normally do introductions this long, so new readers don’t fret I don’t waffle… that often.
We all have a calling, whether you know you’re calling or not, you do have one. If you know it – Great, go and fulfill it! If you don’t know your calling – Great – it’s all in God’s timing and if he’s not revealed it to you it’s because he’s waiting for the right time. But there’s two types of callings; Personal and Overall. The personal calling is something everyone will get and the overall calling everyone has. As Christians we’re all called to live out the one, true mission:
“Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptising them in the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit” – Matthew 28:19.
If you’re enthralled by something, you enjoy it and give it your complete attention and interest. We need to get enthralled by this calling. This is the word of God. What a privilege to have God give us a calling, if that’s not something to get excited about I don’t know what is. Get passionate about making disciples, the more passionate, excited and enthralled you are the more of a reward you get when you see someone come to faith /become a disciple.
To make disciples you’re going to need to get passionate. Look at Jesus for instance; passion drove him to die on a cross. His passion created our lives. That very same passion granted us access into heaven. We could never achieve anything like that, because we’re not Jesus, that’s just the fact of the matter, but if we could have even a fraction of what Jesus’ passion was we can change the world.
Following your calling + Enthrallment and Passion = Changed lives. #NuffSaid

It’s about time we got passionate and excited about our calling.

Thanks for reading. See you next Saturday.
Nick.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2013 in Called, Godly Ideas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Called and Enthralled

  1. Shelly

    September 7, 2013 at 9:38 am

    Loves this post! We all have a calling and sometimes I think people get worried because they don’t know what their calling is. It isn’t our job to “figure out” what our calling is, but rather God’s job to reveal it. If we focus on what Jesus said were the greatest commandments, loving God and loving others, He will reveal our calling to us. Blessings!

     
    • nickowilran

      September 7, 2013 at 3:34 pm

      Totally agree! God’s timing is key! 🙂

       
  2. Julie Garro

    September 7, 2013 at 11:21 am

    Welcome back.

     
    • nickowilran

      September 7, 2013 at 3:35 pm

      Thankyou, It’s good to be back 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
